New Colors; Limited Palette; Comments?

newcolorgraphic_schnackel

Photoshop Elements doodle, Cindy Schnackel. Gradient tool, brush tool, ‘plastic wrap’ filter.

NEW COLORS

There are some “super-colors” out now, that are more intense than traditional pigments. Availability ranges from No Way, to Out of Stock, so I’ve not tried them, but am curious!

The first is Vantablack , which only one artist, Anish Kapoor, has access to. It is so dark that it makes anything painted with it appear as a black hole, (so I’ve read). Something about nanotubes…

Around the same time as Vantablack hit the news, we learned there was a new blue that was more intense than all others,  YInMn Blue (possibly even more intense that Klein Blue ?). YInmn blue is made with a new process, too, and from some rare minerals. [Edited to add I happened to run across a paint brand that might be offering Yin Min Blue pigment powder eventually: http://www.derivan.com.au/derivan-products/yin-min-blue.html Derivan makes Matisse acrylic paint.]

Recently, I read about the “Pinkest Pink” on Blouin Art Info about artist Stuart Semple’s fluorescent pigments. The artist’s site also offers green, yellow, and a glass glitter. These are available to everyone EXCEPT Kapoor. Though I don’t know if Semple actually expects to enforce the disclaimer that you are not Kapoor, and won’t supply Kapoor with the pigment, it is an interesting statement about Kapoor’s exclusive use of Vantablack.

An artist I know locally has said he has some of the Pinkest Pink and that it is really intense. I’m anxious to see what he does with it. In the meantime, the price is not bad, so I plan to try it when it’s in stock again.

One wonders how different these new colors really are, or if photos online do them justice. It’d be great to see works in person that were created with them, and fun if we could try them out. Seems like they’d be best for artists who use large fields of more or less unsullied color. My work might not show them off to their best advantage, however, artists are inspired by new things, and I could see finding a way to use them.

Do you think you’d like to try these? If you did, would you feel like no other black, blue or pink would satisfy you anymore?

COMMENTS?

I’d love to know what you think about the new colors, so tried to turn Comments back on, but they are not showing up! I’ve been through my dashboard settings for discussion/comments etc, with a fine tooth comb, and checked or unchecked all the appropriate boxes, (the same places I was in when I turned comments OFF a few weeks ago). Still, no Comment option appears on new posts like it should. It says I can turn comments on or off on each post, too, but there’s no option to do that while creating or editing posts, that I can find.

[Edited, the old format apparently wasn’t supporting making changes, but I dared to click the new improved editor and that does have a way to turn on comments on individual posts. Still working on figuring out why turning them back on for everything wasn’t working.]

Of course, no one can leave any thoughts on that, either, because the Comments do not work.

fullsizerender-50

LIMITED PALETTE

Deciding to go out plein air painting later this month required thinking about a limited palette again, so I don’t have to carry as many paint tubes. (I didn’t want to include fluid acrylics as the lids can pop open.) Away from the house, I didn’t want to be thinking, “Damn, I wish I’d brought _______.”

Often, when painting at home, I end up using a palette that’d be considered “limited,” but the particular colors vary from piece to piece. I like having a lot to choose from. Some become favorites and are in most paintings, like ultramarine blue, whichever yellow makes sense at the time, and red iron oxide. I can always grab a brighter red, or a premixed purple or green, or a cerulean blue if need be. I prefer to mix greens, though Green Gold is a favorite premixed green.

After doing some research on plein air sites about what colors regular plein air painters take with them, there was not just one answer, but quite a few sites/artists mentioned the ones in the photo. They are SOHO’s Alizaron Crimson, Golden’s Ultramarine Blue, and Derivan Matisse Flow Primary Yellow, (which was the closest yellow I had in a tube form to the cadmium light or lemon yellow some plein air sites suggested).  This worked very well to make secondary colors plus a functional “black,” and a range of browns. I’ll also take titanium white.

We’ll be painting in the desert most likely, and there is a lot of color there. By the time our winter rains have made the spring flowers bloom, it will be a riot of color in some areas. The rest of the time, the desert still has plenty of rusty reds, purples, and dusky greens, plus usually brilliant blue sky.

As for an actual palette, I have a Stay Wet plastic kind with a sponge and special paper, but it’s large. I might just take plastic lids from food containers and pitch them in recycling when I get home. I will already have to carry water for painting and drinking, and at least a cursory brush washing, so the Stay Wet Palette may be too cumbersome. We shall see.

I have Golden’s Open gel, so the paint will not dry quite so fast. Wasn’t quite willing to start a whole new kit with Open colors, but maybe if drying is too fast and a problem out there, I might eventually switch over, at least for tube colors.

Some good finds:

A decent tripod type easel for only $20! While the wooden French easels with space for supplies are very tempting, they were kind of expensive for an activity I haven’t even tried yet. And heavy…most were made of wood.

A small, lightweight cart to carry everything, and even if I never use it for art again, it is a stand in for my “old lady cart” when the wheels finally fall off. The new cart has bigger, rubbery wheels, than than my old cart which is only made for use on paved surfaces.

4 thoughts on “New Colors; Limited Palette; Comments?

  1. Love the names that paint manufacturers come up with!

  2. Oooo!! That black sounds really cool. I’d try them all, if I could.
    Hooray for the return of your comments!!
    How’d the plein air work go? Did you wish for other colors?

    • I saw the Pinkest Pink used in someone’s work at the 2nd round of the Nasty Women art show, and it was a very intense fluorescent type pink. I may order some one of these days, and I’ve read that Matise/Derivan, an Australian brand, is planning to come out with a yinmin blue paint. But so far only Amish Kapoor can have the Vantablack. Not sure how long that’ll last. I’m curious because it’s a novelty! When I was a kid I used to try to “imagine” a color that was entirely new and unseen, but all I could imagine was versions of colors we already know. That’s what these are, too, but as soon as they’re in stores I’m sure I’ll want to try them. Of course, the one we can’t have, vantablack, is the one that is most intriguing LOL!

      The plein air trip isn’t for over a week yet. I got my palette down to three colors plus white, and black just in case, but I keep fondling my other tubes and thinking…”and maybe just this one more,” and the stack grows, then I go back to being minimalist again. There is not much time left to go somewhere local and try out my “kit” and see what I need or don’t need, but I’ve been busy painting at home, and it’s been rainy many days, so it’s all still untested in the Outdoors.

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

