A Cockatoo Commission

Happy 2017!

Twenty-sixteen’s last painting was a commissioned portrait of a family’s cockatoo. I was so happy that the buyer and her family were pleased with it! Even their cockatoo seemed to approve. The painting is 16 x 20 inches. The photos it was done from were supplied by the bird’s humans. I moved a few things around and added some detail like a lizard and a bug. The buyer supplied me with info about character, and close ups of her bird’s toes and face so I could get the details personalized.

azizadonestudio_cschnackel

Commissioned cockatoo portrait

2017

This year, I plan to try two new things, or at least that I haven’t done in a long, long time. One is plein air painting, the other is drawing from a live (human) model. I will probably suck at both, but hopefully it’ll serve as a way to challenge myself, recharge my batteries, and enhance my more imaginary work, as well as just be a fun time with other artists.

My husband requested that I paint some Juncos, a cute little song bird with a tiny pink beak. We don’t see them much here in Phoenix AZ because they breed far North, and even some of their winter range is still in colder climates than here. We lived a few years in the Oklahoma City area some years ago, and that’s where we became acquainted with them, at our feeders, usually after there was snow on the ground. I plan on painting them in a snow scene. Hopefully, we’ll see a few in our yard here this winter, too, so I can sketch them in person again.

