“HOOT!”

hoot_wip_schnackel

Acrylic painting on birch panel, 12 x 12 in.

Connie Tucker asked me to paint from another of her lovely photos, since the Hummingbird I did earlier in Nov sold the first day of the show it was in! This time we agreed on an owl. I loved the blue and gave it a little more room. Working on the shapes and feathers now, and will finish up with some ‘character’ in the beak and eye, saving that for last! I hope to have this done in time for the Herberger at AZ Center to show it on First Friday, Dec 2, but am not pushing myself, as I want to be sure I’m really done and happy with it, before I show it.

The Herberger has two galleries across the street from each other. The one that the owl will be in is the one in the Arizona Center mall, on E. Van Buren between 3rd and 4th Streets. (The other gallery is in the Theater Center on 3rd and E. Van Buren.)

I’m also working on a commission that I can’t show because it’s a secret til after the holidays. 🙂

Here’s someone who has been helping keep me busy this month!

chris21nov2016

© Cindy Schnackel 2016

The two paintings are a comfortable pace, especially with a newly adopted cockatiel in the house! He was formerly owned by a woman who sadly passed away, and he spent a bit of time at a bird rescue before my husband and I discovered him. We love him dearly, and he is super affectionate. His former human obviously loved and cared for him really well. He was hatched with only one full wing, so he’s a pedestrian like one of our other adopted tiels. We are all set up for that here.

I have five bird pieces, each 6 x 6 in. and under $100, in {9} The Gallery for a show that opens this Friday evening. The only bad thing about having work in shows is that it means I don’t get out to see OTHER people’s shows as much. There has been a lot to see, so many good shows, every month!

tinyworks

Tiny Works/Tiny Dances, opens Fri Dec 2, 2016, 1229 Grand Ave, Phoenix, AZ, at {9} The Gallery

Tiny Works is hung, it appears, from photos the gallery is sharing on Facebook. SO many little artworks! I’m really looking forward to the show, even if I wasn’t in it! If you can’t go on opening night, please call the gallery, (929) 260-4999, they have other hours, and by appointment. http://9thegallery.com/calendar

 

2 thoughts on ““HOOT!”

  1. Wonderful, wonderful news – love the work! And Chris is a CUTIEPIE!!!!

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

