Show update, and Dave Hanson’s chicken mosaics

First, here’s a blog post I wrote today about Dave Hanson’s beautiful mosaic art, that just happens to include some chickens! https://foundachicken.wordpress.com/2016/09/06/the-mosaic-art-of-dave-hanson/

Found A Chicken is the blog I set up a year or two ago, to feature some of the many artists I encounter who do chickens, whether it’s an anomaly in their portfolio, or a whole lot of chickens. The inspiration to do Found A Chicken was that I WOULD often find a chicken in nearly every portfolio, (maybe Herbert Hoover really meant that, instead of a “chicken in every pot.”) I think the shape and character of these birds must be attractive to artists.

I’m pleased to say Dave now owns one of my little chicken paintings from the current Olney Gallery show right now. Which is a handy segue into a recap of Friday night’s opening there! I also sold Bluebird of Crabbiness to another person, and there was interest in two separate series of paintings by the time the gallery closed at 9 pm. I’ll be stopping by there during some week day hours, probably to take family members who couldn’t really brave Roosevelt Row on First Friday. If you plan on going maybe I’ll see you there.

Thank you to everyone who attended! Lots of familiar faces, and some new ones, too. It was a great crowd and people noted many times how colorful and fun the show was, that it made them smile, laugh, and feel good. That’s a great feeling to know that your sense of enjoyment is passed along to viewers. I also enjoyed talking to an art teacher and wished I’d had HER for art when I was in grade school, that would’ve been so much fun!

panohangingolney_schnackel

Panoramic shot of hanging night at Olney; the crew was fast and efficient!

Olney’s crew did a great job of hanging the show! Manny Burruel has a very good eye for how things should be hung together. They have a nice cable system and lighting, and the crew was speedy and efficient in getting it all up and looking great. On opening night, it all looked fantastic. The doors opened at 6 pm on Friday Sept 2nd. The show will be up until Sept 28, a Wed. Olney has daytime hours if you missed the opening.

It was nice that so many people made a point of talking to both Carlos and I, and were interested in how the art was made, what inspired us, etc. One woman noted that both artists were engaged in painting and showing late in life and found it inspirational. Carlos started painting a few years ago and is now 92, definitely an inspiration. I agree that keeping active and creating probably helps to keep one’s mind sharp. At least, I hope so! While I worked as an artist-employee when I was younger, I didn’t really produce as much of my personal art, or work to show it much, until I was over 50. Looking back, the business aspect of it was simply something that came later in life for me. Of all second careers, art may be one of the most forgiving, because a lifetime of experiences enhance it, and it can be done at your own pace, full bore or part time, as you wish or need it to.

Olney’s website for hours and other info: http://trinitycathedral.com/?page_id=325

You can see shots from the show at the Olney Gallery’s Facebook page. As is so often the case, I had my cell phone with me but didn’t take many pictures!  https://www.facebook.com/Olney-Gallery-at-Trinity-Cathedral-459569137463365/

 

abstractabsurd_schnackel

I have changed my flyer for the Olney show to say closing day is Sept 28 as that’s what their Facebook Event Page says. We take the show down the 29th, and not sure yet whether that’s daytime or evening. So, I’d assume the 28th is the last day!

A reminder, my solo show opens Friday, Sept 16 at 6 pm at {9} The Gallery. I believe this show will close on Sat Sept 24 but that is not yet set in stone. http://9thegallery.com/

FataFarm9gallery_schnackel

2 thoughts on “Show update, and Dave Hanson’s chicken mosaics

  1. Sales, wonderful sales! GREAT news! And really good to hear that there’s interest in another 2 series – that’s SUPER! Can only imagine what it must feel like to have that kind of effect on people, where they interact with you and share their delight with your work. What a rush that must be!!! (((((happyhugs)))))

    • Thank you, it was really worth doing, and even if it hadn’t been it was something I just had to do. I’m glad the gallery owner had faith in it, as I really didn’t want to just rent a space but probably would have if it had come down to that.

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

