Painting Bigger Today; Countryside Magazine

WIPSwearJarApr2016_schnackel

Mostly finished a large palette knife painting today on the patio. Beautiful weather for it! The light was fading, and our birds were wanting to come back in, so I packed it up for the day at about this point. After I got in, the birds came out to play for awhile. After they went to bed, I added a few more strokes to the painting. It may be done now. I’ll think about it tomorrow.

The painting is “Swear Jar,” acrylic, 36 x 48 inches, on deep edged canvas. It will probably be in  Olney Gallery in September, (price as yet to be determined). It’s based on a quick drawing I did in a sketchbook some time ago. Whenever I’ve heard that expression, I thought of an angry monster in the jar trying to get out.

Last week, I finished, (or at least mostly finished), all the miniatures on wood scraps, and haven’t decided where they will be shown yet. Some will probably be at Olney, and some with {9} The Gallery when I do the show slated for October, that will focus on animals, especially since deciding to no longer eat them.

And, though I don’t have my issue yet, I’ve seen photos proving it, and the author, Jerri L. Cook, has confirmed it, Jenny Garcia and I were featured in Countryside Magazine for I think the June issue! Jenny made the art doll of my long passed away hen, Fergie. Her life-like chicken dolls are amazing. I’d followed her on Facebook for months and last year finally had her make one for me. I’ll post more about it when my issue arrives. Jenny’s site is Pet Chicken Ranch

After years of blogging here the ‘add link’ feature finally seems to allow me to title links instead of just posting the URL. So I hope that works for viewers. Looks nicer!

4 thoughts on “Painting Bigger Today; Countryside Magazine

  1. LOVELOVELOVE the “Swear Jar!!!!!”
    Palette knife? Wow!
    Hooray for finishing those miniatures!
    And a magazine article? YAY!!!! Fabulous news!!!! Looking forward to hearing/seeing more!
    The link works great, btw.
    🙂

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

