Cats & Guitars show thru Jan. 2016

EVITEcatsguitars_schnackel

Last night, my husband and I took a whirlwind tour of several show openings on Roosevelt Row, including Monorchid, Bokeh Gallery, Lotus, 515 and others. Stopped by Firehouse Gallery just N. of Roosevelt, where I have a sculpture in the Toy Art show that opened in Dec and closes Jan 9.

Then, we moved on to Grand Ave where we saw work in Trunk Space, which was one I’d never been in before, and {9} where I still have 2 tiny paintings back in the gift shop, before heading to Chartreuse Gallery for Cats & Guitars. I discovered a new artist to follow, Barron Dixon, whose piece, “Light on the Anchovies,” is one of those pieces you can never absorb in one viewing. Lots of detail, excellent execution, and so fun. I also loved the expression and mood of Marisa Hall Valdez’s “Carlos Catana.” There were many pieces I liked! I do like cats, but am allergic, and have birds, so….I admire cats more from afar these days. Cat art is the perfect remedy for that.

Chartreuse has more hours for this show than just first and third Friday art walk nights, so I hope more people will be able to see it. The artists’ reception is Friday Jan 15 starting at 6 pm, and I’ll be there the majority of the evening.

2 thoughts on “Cats & Guitars show thru Jan. 2016

  1. Wow, wow, and WOW! Your area has some terrific places. It must be really exciting to participate the way you do! Too bad about your cat allergies. Your cats are perfection, though. Oh! I did a Goggle search & found the Barron image on FAA. You’re not kidding! That’s quite a piece! SOOOO much to explore!
    🙂

    • Thanks! It is a really good art community, and during the years I was away from AZ I think it changed and improved a lot, so I came back at a great time. it’s also possible that I was just too busy working to be as aware of what was going on as I should’ve been, in those earlier days. Anyway…here now. I wish you could come sometime! Yes, Barron’s work is amazing!

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

