Tieken Gallery, November

SUAVE © 2015 Cindy Schnackel

SUAVE, acrylic, 24 x 36, 2015 Cindy Schnackel

Last night was the artists’ party for “The Arizona 45” show, at the Tieken Gallery, and I was honored to have been asked to be part of the show! My piece is a palette knife painting, one of the larger pieces I do to loosen up between small detailed works. When Fred and Gail asked me to be part of the show I thought this is a great venue for a larger piece. As the show’s title implies, there were 45 artists in the show, so the party with artists and their guests was quite an event!

When my husband and I moved back to Phoenix in 2009 and I started getting back into the art scene I’d been away from for years, I quickly became acquainted with Fred and his remarkable life story, and fun artwork. The Tiekens have done a lot for the arts here even before they built the fantastic gallery and sculpture garden.

The gallery is open by appointment this month up until the public closing reception November 29, (Sunday, 2pm – 5 pm). There are a lot of very cool pieces in this show, and it was great to finally meet some artists I’d only known by their work online up until last night. I also saw many old friends and familiar faces.

News article about the Tiekens and their gallery: http://www.phoenixnewtimes.com/arts/gail-and-fred-tieken-open-backyard-gallery-in-paradise-valley-7793095

Tieken Studio & Gallery
5202 E Gold Dust Ave
Paradise Valley, AZ

http://fredtieken.com/

 

Today is one of our beautiful winter days, probably will be around 80 or 70-something, so I’m going to get outside and work on some more things on the patio. Hope you can make it to the Tieken Gallery show, and I plan on having work in a couple other shows this winter which I’ll post details about, closer to the time.

6 thoughts on “Tieken Gallery, November

  1. Woweeeeee!!!!! ::tosses confetti:: Congratulations, Cindy! I’m so happy for you!!! Sounds like a terrific time, a great opportunity to mix-and-mingle with old friends and new. I hope you have a wonderful show!
    “SUAVE” is perfect for this post! LOL!!!
    I took a look at Fred Tieken’s site. I love his work! OMGosh!! Inspiring! Makes me want to paintpaintpaint!!
    Thank you for sharing this!!
    🙂

    • Thanks, Robin! Yes, his work is so fun, I wish you could see it in person. They are such a nice couple and this was a huge and fantastic gift to the art community to have this event.

  2. Very cool! And the painting is *fantastic*. 🙂

  3. Congratulations Cindy!!! I love all of your Work!! ❤ * Cynthia

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

