Edited, new show date: Shows, new products, new ceramics, mostly chickens so far

2015Chickens

Two of several small plastic brick sculptures on wheels by Cindy Schnackel

 

SHOWS!

February

I will have several small sculptural pieces in “MOVE,” a show about all things that move, in February! I had been playing around with building blocks and adding wheels to things so it seemed like the thing to enter.

Glue

So far, this turned out to be my favorite glue for these bricks!

 

The sculptures will be glued together. I don’t happen to be one of the people who believes it’s sacrilegious to glue them, if the purpose is to keep them together. (Usually, I was taking them apart again, so gluing is only for the ‘permanent’ ones.) I have dropped unglued sculptures before and they shatter into as many pieces as they were made from. I didn’t want that to be happening, especially since even I can rarely remember how they go back together! I don’t know if the glue will make them truly shatter proof, but my test pieces seem pretty permanently bonded! The glue liked best is called Cyanoacrylate. This won my favor because it worked well and had a very tiny applicator tip that made gluing go fast, and neatly. It was one of the types of glues recommended in the research I did. My husband always has it on hand for his plastic models, too.

“MOVE!” Opens Friday, Feb. 6, 2015

{9} The Gallery

1229 Grand Ave.

Phoenix, AZ

https://www.facebook.com/9TheGallery

March

There are at least two group shows I should enter something for in March, and I’ll blog about it if I get anything done in time! They are both no-fee shows, and look promising. The themes are still being mulled around in my mind.

Edit! My April show was just moved up to March!

For April, March, I’m scheduled for a two person show at R. Pela Contemporary Art, in Phoenix, where I’ve shown before. Robrt had liked what I was doing with a particular topic last year and asked me to do a whole show of it. I’ve been working on that now for months, as well as my other stuff, and it has been an exercise in self discipline to hold back so much work from public view all this time.

I will post details as the gallery begins to announce it!

R. Pela Contemporary Art

335 W. McDowell

Phoenix, AZ

http://rpelagallery.com

 

NEW PRODUCT OFFERINGS!

[Edited and updated to note that I am no longer selling products on Redbubble. Changes to the site in April caused me to decide not to anymore.]

DuvetChickenScratch

Duvet cover product view, repeating chicken cartoon design, Cindy Schnackel

 

The Print On Demand (POD) site I’m on recently introduced “tiling” for the Duvet Cover product! This means we can upload normal sized high resolution images like we use for other products, and ’tile’ and scale them to make repeat patterns.  I have experimented with it and love the way it looks, so am offering a few of my images as Duvets now, in addition to other things.

http://www.redbubble.com/people/cschnack/journal/13655484-duvet-covers-tiled-designs

 

CERAMICS AGAIN!

2015Greenware1st

Wet clay pinch pot projects. Creature, tiny dish, hollow chicken; Cindy Schnackel

2015TeapotGreenware

Coil Teapot, Cindy Schnackel, at wet greenware stage

2015TeapotUpsidedown

Teapot, upside down, getting feet and udders, Cindy Schnackel, greenware

 

Ceramics started again in January! This time it’s a bit of everything, and the first night we made pinch pots. Beginner stuff, yes, but the teacher let us do what we wanted as long as we used the technique, so naturally, I made a chicken. It is very different from my earlier hollow sphere chicken that I did more than 20 years ago by joining two shaped slab or pinched half spheres. This time the half spheres were all pinch technique. I also made a monster with about eight nipples/udders, (which didn’t show up at this angle, sadly), and a tiny treat dish for our pet birds. (The clays and glazes I’m using are all food safe!) The hollow pinch pot chicken is about 8″ tall.

The following week, we moved right on to coils. I built the body of my teapot with coils and added handbuilt elements in a variety of techniques later. I just kind of shaped the spout by pushing my finger through a ball of clay and squeezing it, then removing my finger, I curved and refined it before attaching. The eyes are pressed in with a wooden shaping tool, etc, while pressing from inside so it didn’t deform the pot. The lid has a small circle of clay added that fits inside the filling hole. They ‘should’ shrink the same as they’re the same clay, same wetness, and should fit when dry/fired. If I build another pot where I need to apply pressure from inside, I must remember to make the filling hole big enough for my hand! I really had to reach in with tools to attach the spout! D’oh! But it seems to have worked out, and I’m not sure it’s to be functional anyway.

The clay is LB Blend. The techs have already started firing some things from the first class, so by next class, I should have a piece or two to put glaze on, and the teapot should be ready to bisque fire.

[Edited to update: the teapot blew up in the kiln! Gahhh!]

7 thoughts on “Edited, new show date: Shows, new products, new ceramics, mostly chickens so far

  1. What a wonderful bunch of news and information! Your chickens on wheels are brilliant…good news about the glue. What a nightmare it would be to have everything burst apart! Yikes! Your upcoming shows sound so cool! I wishwishwish I could see them in person. Your area is lucky to have you living there. And those ceramics!! HAA! LOVE them! When we see your painting the creatures do appear to be multidimensional, but to see them actually take shape this way is astonishing. the chicken looks like it’s actually making clucking…my personal favorite is the teapot. I’ll bet that people will fall in love with them! WOW!!!

  2. Those teapots are fantastic! Great art to put around the kitchen or any cabinet that needs a pop of life. Are they fully functional or purely decorative? I’ve been wanting to dabble in making teapots but am afraid it won’t be sealed correctly. Good tip on making the opening wide enough to reach your hand in – also good for washing out in the future. Looking forward to more of your posts!

    • Thank you! I like your stuff, too! One of them is probably functional, (the one with the spout, handle, and lid). Whether it’s functional for real is something I will determine after it’s fired and I can pour water from it and see what happens. I was able to blend the coils of clay on the pot itself since I only had to reach in an inch or two from wherever the top was at any given point in coiling. However, to attach the spout near the bottom, I had to rely on pressing the clay together with tools. It seems like it should be well bonded, but whether or not it will pour right, or be very cleanable, are other questions! Once it’s bisqued I can tell a lot. If the opening is really tiny in there though, it’s possible glaze will seal it shut!

      I saw some really cool instructions in a book on how to make a teapot with the spout already on it, on the wheel. Essentially what they did was throw a wide bodied vase that narrowed to a small neck then flared back out just a little. After it was off the wheel, they didn’t trim the bottom like you normally would. They let it set up a bit, then tapped it on the table so that it had a flat ‘bottom’ that was really partially on the side. So, the vase’s neck became the spout, sticking out at maybe a 45 degree angle. Then they attached a handle and made a lid with handbuilding methods. I think the hole they cut out for the lid was just altered so it would not slip down inside and/or cut in at an angle so it didn’t just slip thru its own hole. I could never find that book again, but plan on trying to make a teapot that way. I’m not good on the wheel yet, so getting anything that big, the shape I want, will be a challenge. But trying to do it will be good practice in any case.

      • Thank you so much for your reply. I don’t have a wheel accessible and am partial to handbuilding myself. I can see the efficiency in using a wheel when creating the body of the tea pot – probably why I have not tried it. But after seeing yours I will give it a try the next time I get my hands on some stoneware.

        I am looking forward to seeing/hearing about the final product post-glaze and fire. Thank you again for your response Cindy!

  3. Pingback: cindyschnackel | Delivered to show; Ceramic update

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

