My Creative Process; The Grand Blog Tour

I was invited to participate in the Grand Blog tour by artist Laura Barbosa: http://laurabarbosa.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/my-creative-process-the-grand-blog-tour/

Like Laura, I was asked the following questions:

1. What are you working on now?

GoodChinaBadDesertSM

Good China in the Bad Desert, Acrylic on panel, 48 x 20 in.

After an April show, I went into experimental mode for art production, meaning a lot of things I’m working on right now won’t ever make their way to online display! However, I have uploaded a couple of very recent collages to my Redbubble site:  http://www.redbubble.com/people/cschnack

My painting, “Good China in the Bad Desert,” (above) will be shown in July at R. Pela Contemporary Art Gallery, (335 W. McDowell, Phoenix, AZ).  See R. Pela gallery site for info on past and current shows, and watch for article on July show: http://rpelagallery.com/

As far as blogging, I’ve been working on updating my inventory and price list here on my WordPress blog, as well as trying some of my existing images on Redbubble’s new products.

2. How does your work differ from others of it’s genre?

CrackedPeanut_Csm

Cracked, Acrylic on canvas, 6 x 6 inches

The closest genre to what I do seems to be surrealism, but so far I’ve not yet found a genre that perfectly fits.  Perhaps that’s one way my work differs, though I don’t compare or worry too much about genres or labels, and I’m not the only artist who would be hard to categorize.

There are many artists who do the same subjects, (birds or monsters); I think we mostly all do them in unique and personal ways so you could identify the artist once you had seen their work.  The messages, as well as visual style, can also vary greatly from one artist to another and is part of the ‘signature’ that makes theirs unique.

3. Why do you write/create what you do?

HenPartyCSchnackel

Hen Party, Acrylic on panel, 48 x 36 in.

It’s a passion to make art, something that I have done since I was little, almost as necessary as breathing. I don’t know where the desire to do it came from because there was little art influence where I grew up. As a kid I remember drawing scenes, animals, and characters not a whole lot different than now, only hopefully my work has improved over the years.  I’ve always loved animals, especially birds, and see them as equals who are capable of complex thoughts, feelings, and lives. Though I’m still not sure if my birds and monsters are stand ins for humans, I do display them in human situations and with what we think of as human emotions and dilemmas.

4. How does your writing/creative process work?

ChickenGrayRooster

Block Chicken, was about 4 in. tall or less, has since been disassembled.

Usually, I shut out everything and get into the ‘zone’ and just create kind of mindlessly, from a very subconscious place.   There’s little or no plan or conscious thought of what I’ll do, or how. The surface, paints, tools, etc, are chosen based on whatever appeals at that moment. There’s no point questioning why it’s a pencil instead of paint, or palette knife instead of a brush, or for that matter pick up clay or toy building blocks or fabric.  If I start thinking too much I probably won’t like the result, and will end up painting over it. My best ideas often spring from this, whether I start right out on canvas or have done a doodle and translate it to a semi-planned piece before I lose the momentum of the half baked thought.

 

Other artists who blog, and whom I’ve invited to do the Grand Blog Tour–watch for their posts a week from mine:

 

Anita Inverarity  http://whisperofthesith.blogspot.co.uk/

Jenny Wood  http://jennywoodart.com/

8 thoughts on “My Creative Process; The Grand Blog Tour

  1. Fantastic Art and Fabulous Post! I really enjoyed reading about your creative process !! :0)) Thanks so much for participating in the grand blog tour!

  2. Pingback: My Creative Process – The Grand Blog Tour | Art work by Jenny Wood

  3. Hi Cindy — Would you mind if I reblogged this post on my blog, under Artist Profiles? — deb at Explore Art: Phoenix.

  4. Very interesting – thank you!

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

