Some exciting news!

One of my paintings, Birds in Wigs, was recently purchased, a Governors Arts Award! Very cool purchase, and unexpected pleasure. I was at home getting ready for a gallery owner’s studio visit, when the Exec. Director of the AZ Commission on the Arts called, and asked me to send him some jpegs ASAP. I had met Bob Booker at art shows and events but otherwise mainly knew him through Facebook.  It was an honor to be asked to do this. I quickly put together some jpegs and sent them off, and soon was informed that they were purchasing Birds in Wigs! An event will be in March. Details when I know more.

At the same time I was first hearing of that opportunity, the gallery owner arrived, something I was also really happy about, as a studio visit could mean a show.  Probably will be a two person show as is the custom, usually, in his gallery. I will post more as it’s scheduled.

Havebeen making good sales this year and will be busy making more new bird art for the upcoming show that I hope I’m not jinxing by mentioning it now! I usually don’t mention things until they are on the calendar! However, this news intertwined with the above.  Very fun and odd feeling to have two important things happen at once.

You can read more about this, and a bit about my trip to the botanical gardens to take reference pics, here: http://www.redbubble.com/people/cschnack/journal/11556368-governors-arts-award-purchase-and-more

UPDATE 17 Mar. 2014, recent article: http://www.broadwayworld.com/phoenix/article/Tucson-Phoenix-and-Scottsdale-Artists-Selected-For-33RD-ANNUAL-GOVERNORS-ARTS-AWARDS-325-20140317#

This coming week I will probably look at my plant photos, discard any that aren’t of interest, and make a blog post of some of the rest.

4 thoughts on “Some exciting news!

  1. Congrats Cindy. Well deserved.

  2. Oh, FABULOUS news, Cindy! WOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!
    ::applause::

    Can’t wait to see the photos.
    Will go check out the RB journal soon.
    It’s wonderful to see you!!!!!
    🙂
    ::waves::

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

