Another Mammal; some new paints

Mammal 2

Mammal 2

Finally got done enough with some necessary editing chores to try out some new paints I’d ordered.  I was anxious to try some genuine mineral pigment paints from Daniel Smith.  They had more of them in the watercolors, than acrylics, and I do acrylics, but I was able to get a small tube of genuine lapis lazuli blue, and also Minnesota pipestone.  I also ordered Indian red, and Rich Green Gold because I just needed those colors.  People had said in art forums that the lapis was “disappointing and wimpy.”  Somehow that made me even more curious.  Maybe it’d be useful in its own way, like the discontinued Prismacolor pencil ‘manganese violet’ that is wimpy but very useful for adding a transparent purple cast to shadows, etc, in colored pencil drawings.  There is a use for everything!

Anyway, the above creature is a result of using all four new colors.

The green gold, and indian red, are pretty strong colors. They absolutely dominated the weaker natural mineral pigments in mixes, so a little of them went a long way.  Not surprisingly, Daniel Smith’s rich green gold is fairly transparent like the green gold from Golden paints.  Indian red was very opaque, a rich reddish brown, similar to red iron oxide.  I use the transparent red iron oxide from Golden a lot.  Lapis was weak,  but I will certainly use it.  It reminds me of the color of broken in blue jeans.  It’s nice by itself, weak in mixes, and semi transparent.

All four are useful and I’m sure I’ll have lots of fun with them.

The creature above has a lot of pipestone in it, and its eyes are mostly lapis.  The ‘sky’ is mostly watery green gold, with a bit of the pipestone. There is a lot of colored and black ballpoint and india ink in it, too.  I painted this watercolor-style, even though with acrylics, as I wanted to see what each color did when thinned out.  Plus it was a way to experiment without using the entire tube.

Besides this piece, I’ve been working on a large (40 x 30 inch) palette knife painting of a clown having a really, really bad day. I hate clowns.  One of the monsters who’s been with me since the 80s came back to kick the clown’s ass.  Not sure why I hate clowns, just always have.  One time during the Apple Fest parade when I was a little kid one came up to me and I was just appalled. They’re really creepy.  It’s fitting that serial killer John Wayne Gacy was a clown.  Confirmation that all we clown haters got it right.

 

Have a good weekend!

 

All work copyright © Cindy Schnackel, all rights reserved.

6 thoughts on “Another Mammal; some new paints

  1. LOVE this! The colors are splendid! And Mammal 2 has a ferocious clown-biting expression.
    That’s really interesting about the Lapis. Never would have thought it. The Green Gold sounds esp intriguing!
    You are light years beyond me here, Cindy. I’m still surprised when I plunk paint on a canvas and it’s transparent. I need to learn the colors.

    A 40×30 clown having a bad day? Yeeeow!! I hope we get to see a glimpse of that!!!

    • Thanks! Yes, green gold is one of my favorite paint colors, and I don’t even really like ‘green.’ I have to admit I was intrigued by the name, MN Pipestone, because I grew up in MN and I remember things made out of pipestone were kind of a MN touristy thing. Though the mineral pigments do not seem to have any discernable ‘sparkle’ like you might expect, they may have light properties I haven’t discovered yet. I just hope that by the time I figure out if I love them, there’s still some left in the tube!

      • I went to A. C. Moore and looked at the Golden “Green Gold” paint in person. GLORIOUS! WOW!!!!!! I picked up a small tube but then I saw Manganese Blue and was smitten. You inspired me to get it, Cindy, and I have to say it’s the coolest paint ever. No sparkle…LOL…but a wonderful glow. I had a coupon saw I invested in a little tube of Pyrrole Red, too. Yeeeow!! Fabulous!

        🙂

    • Can’t wait to see what you come up with, with your new colors!

  2. Fascinated by these mineral paints and wondering whether I can create the same effect digitally. (It’s Sarah Vernon here, as in RB!)

    • Thanks, yes I remember you from Redbubble, too. Not sure about digital stuff, I only use a fraction of the tools available, mostly only to play around for mindless fun, or do minor corrections like brightness, resize images, etc.

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

