Recycled OSB into bird paintings

RecycledOSB

Awhile ago I got some scraps of construction materials to paint on, use as backer boards on my easel, or whatever uses they could serve.  The idea was to avoid buying new material, to keep a few scraps out of the landfills.  One was the above OSB, (oriented strand board), a wood product compressed from scraps of wood.  You often see it used as sheathing when buildings are under construction.

 

One day after using it for awhile to provide support behind things on my easel, I quickly painted a few birds on it.  The ones I liked, I saved, by cutting them out.  The edges are sanded and they are sealed well on all sides and edges.

 

Though OSB is not considered an archival art support by any means, it lasts long enough in landfills apparently!  So, I think if it is well cared for inside a home, it should last as long as it concerns any of us. Because they are on this material and are essentially quick sketches, (though done in acrylic paint), they will be part of my Affordable Art collection.  The two larger ones will be $50 each, the smaller $25.  This is a great value, as similar sized pieces of my regular paintings and drawings would be 4 to 5 times more.

 

“Rooster” is available as cards and prints, too, on my Red Bubble page. The Photographic Prints on RB are a particularly good value.  http://www.redbubble.com/people/cschnack/works/10103211-rooster

 

COMING SOON

I have another scrap, of masonite or hardbord, that is 20 x 48 inches, and I’ve done a rather elaborate painting on it, (not a sketch).  Masonite and Hardbord are much denser than OSB, and forms of them are used to make really nice archival artists panels to paint on.   I feel that it will have a long life, too, if well cared for as any art should be. I will need to either ‘cradle’ the back with wood, or get a custom frame, to give the piece support and be able to hang it, and I’ve not yet decided which direction I want to go with that.  The subject of the painting is not chickens or birds this time, but is a surreal and humorous scene taking place in a desert, and I’ll leave it at that, for now!

 

2 thoughts on “Recycled OSB into bird paintings

  1. Cindy!! That OSB you’ve used makes such a wonderful under-texture. LOVE it! It adds to the feather-y energy. Can’t wait to see the masonite one!

    Hooray for artistic re-purposing!
    🙂

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

