Hide and Seek in the Desert

HideSeekSM

Hide and Seek is acrylic on canvas panel, 14 x 11 inches.  Available as cards/reprints on my Redbubble page, http://www.redbubble.com/people/cschnack/works/10082629-hide-and-seek  and the original will be for sale, as well. (Price lists are in my Journals on my Redbubble site)  This started last year as a vague mountain background, probably inspired by many freeway trips where I could see the superstition mountains and other small mountain ranges around Phoenix, from the car.  Extra paint on the palette ends up on another canvas, to be ‘done something with, later.’  This weekend, I finished it, adding details, creatures, and foreground, and refining the mountains and sky more.  I enjoy working with acrylics because they do dry so fast, and I can get lots of different effects.  I like to work in many thin layers, some transparent, some opaque or semi-opaque, to build up forms and shading.  There was no plan to the creatures or scene, it just happened, and I went with it.

 

© Cindy Schnackel 2013

2 thoughts on “Hide and Seek in the Desert

  1. LOL!! This is terrific! LOVE the colors and the energy…and the whimsy!
    ::applause::

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

