Bluebird doodle using leftover paint

Bluebird2013smWhile painting yesterday, I had some paint left on my palette that wasn’t pure enough to put back, but too much to waste.  So, I took an 8 x 10 sheet of drawing paper, and quickly drew a shape and background with washes made from the leftover paints.  Details were then added (this morning) with India ink and a dip pen, and more thinned down paints, including some spatters, and though it does not show well in this scan, some silver leaf speckles on the bird’s back.  I love doing these random doodles from what’s left on my palette.

By the way, I have several paintings done and more in progress.  Not going to upload them until I’m really sure I’m done, and get good photos/scans of them.  Experimenting with the camera and iphone to see if I can get a larger, higher resolution pic of the paintings. Some are tall and narrow (or wide panoramic) shapes, and I’m not happy with the size of the image I can get, so I need to figure out that before I offer them on Redbubble.

2 thoughts on “Bluebird doodle using leftover paint

  1. Oh, Cindy, this is fabulous! LOVE how you did it and the result. ADORABLE!!!!
    Thank you for sharing it!

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

