Cardinal painting and recent art sales

Cardinal
9 x 12 in.
Acrylic on canvas
Framed in black/silver floater frame
$250

One of my personal favorites, and one of my husband’s personal favorites, too.  See more work with details and prices here: http://www.redbubble.com/people/cschnack/journal/9291163-paintings-inventory-and-sale-price-list

I love cardinals and miss seeing them since we moved back to Phoenix, but they do live in the desert southwest, they just aren’t commonly seen in town here for some reason, like they are in other parts of the country. We used to see cardinals at a different house in Phoenix that we lived in some time ago, but that house was near a natural desert preserve and a canal.  Our urban area seems to support many birds but sadly, not cardinals.

Cardinal was done as part of a photo-to-traditional art workshop on RedBubble.com in a group called Solo Exhibitions. Details are on my Red Bubble site, all images in the list link to the image with more information.  The photographers in the workshop offered an image, which painters translated in their own style.  I loved the colors and contrasts in Vonnie Murfin’s photo, (also titled Cardinal), and of course, I love birds!  I zoomed in on the bird and made it in my style.  I’ve done these workshops in Solo group three times now. They are done by written agreement between the participants and each retains copyrights to their own work only.  The cardinal also appears in one of the calendars I offer on my Red Bubble site.

My “Sale” has been helping clear out space at home, yay!  This week, I sold two mixed media pieces, Chicken Ranch, and Alien Board 2.  If you’ve followed my link above to the price list, you may have noticed pieces disappear. Though sold pieces are removed from the list, they almost always are still in my portfolio and available for prints/cards.

I’ll also be adding some NEW work in the next few days, as well as some new scans of existing work, to the above price list.

Experimenting with Comment Settings, in case you don't see a way to leave one.

